Missions

DIRECTV 11

Mission Overview

A Zenit-3SL rocket lifted off at 3:48 pm PDT (22:48 GMT) from the Odyssey Launch Platform, positioned at 154 degrees West Longitude, precisely on schedule. All systems performed nominally throughout the flight. The Block DM-SL upper stage inserted the 5,923 kg (13,058 lb) DirecTV 11 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit, on its way to a final orbital position at 99.2 degrees West Longitude. Boeing acquired a signal from the spacecraft at 10:44 pm PDT (05:44 GMT), at the Hartebeesthoek Tracking facility in South Africa.

This satellite, with a mass of 5923 kg (13,058 lb), is designed to optimize DirecTV's advanced transmission techniques and state-of-the-art video compression technology for delivering national high-definition (HD) programming and local HD channels to subscribers throughout the United States.

 
Instagram
 
© COPYRIGHT 2013-2015 SEA LAUNCH SA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.